top of page

Tripuri Congress - Supporters and opponents of Subhas chandra Bose

On the eve of the polling, seven members of Congress working committee - Sardar Vallabh bhai Patel, Babu Rajendra Prasad, Acharya Kripalani, Bhulabhai Desai, Jairamdas Daulatram, Shankar Rao Deo and Rajgopalachary issued a statement asking the delegates to vote for Mahatmaji's candidate, Dr. Pattabhi Sitaramayya. Nehru was working in the background against Subhas's reelection, as reported by the Statesman on 28th January.

Those who proposed Subhas's name included Fakruddin Ali Ahamed, Gopinath Bordoloi, Bishnuram Medhi, Siddhinath Sarma, and ten members of the Bengal delegates. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai worked tirelessly in favour of Subhas Chandra Bose which resulted in United Province to vote decisively in favour of Subhas. Left wing voted en masse for Subhas (from Netaji my Uncle).

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remebering Jyatirmoyee Ganguly

Jyatirmoyee Ganguly, was born to very illustrious parents. Her father, social reformer and Brahmo leader Dwarkanath Ganguly was a pioneer who went against his family to make her wife Kadambini the fir


bottom of page